April 19, 2016

Leadership Team

The Board of Directors

Luke Castle – President (2017)
Luke Castle is a Detroit native, graduate of Full Sail University with a degree in film, and the founder of the popular now retired nerd culture podcast, The Rack Show and the travel project Yondrr. Luke was an influential member of the Detroit Windsor International Film Festival in (2009-2013) as the community volunteer manager. Luke’s passions for the modern creative arts, adventure travel, and filmmaking bring him to the Royal Starr Film Festival as a coveted member of the leadership board of directors.


Gene Meadows – Vice President (2015-2017)
Gene Meadows is an architectural and fine art photographer. After attending the College for Creative Studies he founded Meadows & Co. Photography. Gene’s work has been displayed in private collections and museums, including exhibitions at The Detroit Institute of Arts and the Toledo Museum of Art.  His images have appeared in Architectural Record, House Beautiful, and several other publications. Gene’s creative talents extend beyond photography, proving invaluable in his role as a member of the Royal Oak Commission for the Arts. Gene is also a co-founder of the Royal Starr Film Festival.


Billy Whitehouse – Treasurer/Secretary (2015-2017)
Billy Whitehouse is a real estate broker with Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices – Hannett, Wilson, Whitehouse & Burke REALTORS. He is also the creator of the Michigan Entertainment Network as well as a founding member of the Detroit Windsor International Film Festival. He is inspired by and inspiring to empower the Creative Class to reinvent the Detroit region as a thriving commercial and creative powerhouse. Billy has his Bachelor of Science from Michigan State University. As a super connector and transformational coach , he is a leader that creates leaders and a stand for a World that works for everyone.


Matt Liston – Chairman (2017)

Advisors to the Board of Directors

Ellen Finn

Department Heads

Christa Laub
Donny Wilson
Derek Trestain
Kelley Whitehouse

Corey Milton
Nathan Warnick
Dominic Lappin

Founding Members

Larry Kantor – Gene Meadows – Billy Whitehouse – Luke Castle – Shane Sevo – Charlie Haviland